VTANO
(

## RESOLUTION NUMBER 7-2011

A RESOLUTION Cherokee	COUNTY SOLI	THE	REVIEW	AND	REVISION	OF	THE	
3	_ COUNTY SOLI	D WAS	LE MANAGI	CIAIRIA I E	LAN.			
WHEREAS, The Southeast Kansas Solid waste Authority (SEKSWA) Solid Waste Management Plan, and the Solid Waste Management Plans of Allen, Bourbon, Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson Counties contained therein, were approved by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment on March 28, 1996, and;								
WHEREAS, K.A.R. after their approval, or Management Plan, which								
WHEREAS, The State Plan was completed on December 2, 1996, the SEKSWA Solid Waste Management Plan, and the Solid Waste Management Plans of Allen, Bourbon, Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson Counties contained therein, must be reviewed no later than December 2, 1997 and annually thereafter, and;								
WHEREAS, The Governing Body of the Southeast Kansas Solid Waste Operating Authority (SEKSWOA) has previously submitted to the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDH&E) a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND REVISION OF SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT PLANS, as adopted by the Governing Bodies of Allen, Bourbon, Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson Counties, in compliance with the Solid Waste Management Plan review requirements of K.A.R. 28-29-82 to be effective December 2, 1997, and;								
WHEREAS, Cherokee COUNTY has subsequently reviewed the Solid Waste Management Plan that was in effect for the county and SEKSWOA on December 2, 1997 and submits the following revisions:								
N/A								
				-				
Market Control of the					01			
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT: the Governing Body ofCherokee COUNTY is in compliance with the Solid Waste Management Plan review requirements of K.A.R. 28-29-82 until October 2010.								
ADOPTED BY THE GOVERNING BODY OF Cherokee COUNTY, KANSAS THIS 20th DAY OF June , 2011.								
ė.	¥**		Chairperson	Daine				
ATTEST:		1	2					
County Clerk	L.Sh	X						

## Cherokee County Solid Waste Management Plan

## Annual Review (2010)

- 1) Changes in the population, industries, utilities, transportation patterns, air, land or water use.
  - $\sim$  the only significant change has been a 4.4% decrease in population (2000 Census = 22,605 / 2010 Census = 21,603).
- 2) Changes in the disposal of MSW.
  - ~ the County's Wheatland Landfill (KDHE Permit #179) closed much sooner than expected (February 26, 2010), as a result of reaching capacity.
  - in addition, utilization of four roll-off containers (providing additional collection service to County residents) ceased (contractual agreement with Republic Services). Cherokee County was financially unable to extend this service.
- 3) Changes in the collection, transportation, storage and/or processing of MSW.
  - ~ Five haulers (four private and one municipal) provide collection of County MSW.
  - ~ All County MSW is taken to Republic Services transfer station in Galena, KS.
  - ~ MSW is transported to area landfills in Lamar, MO (primary) and Cherryville, KS.
- 4) Solid waste disposal services are still available to all County residents and businesses.
  - ~ increased customer fees resulting from additional transportation expenses have been a financial burden to many County residents.
- 5) There has been no change in the location, number, ownership or distribution of solid waste facilities.
- 6) There has been no significant change in the sources, quantity or composition of solid waste.

- 7) Additional areas that have experienced significant change:
  - > City and County responsibilities for solid waste systems.
    - ~ Columbus is the only entity that provides its own collection.
  - > Schedules and/or strategies for reduction of solid waste volume in the planning area.
    - ~ Cherokee County implemented a recycling program in September, 2010.
    - ~ A 10 bin Alleycat recycling trailer is rotated between the communities of Columbus, Baxter Springs, Galena and Scammon for one week each.
    - ~ Items collected include newspaper, mixed paper, metal cans and plastics (#1 and #2).
    - Recycling trailer is transported to SEK Recycling (Pittsburg, KS) for unloading and delivered to next site.
  - > Public education efforts related to waste management.
    - Incorporate recycling, E-waste and HHW information in environmental education program for 4<sup>th</sup> grade students (Central School, Baxter Springs).
    - ~ Discussed solid waste management issues during presentation at the Lion's Club (Baxter Springs).
    - Frequently use the local media (newspaper and television) to disseminate information regarding recycling opportunities and schedule, pharmaceutical collections and disposal, and E-waste collections.
    - ~ Expanding public outreach to increase participation in the recycling program.
- 8) Changes in management programs or disposal options for special wastes:
  - > Household hazardous waste.
    - ~ Coordinating with SEK Recycling (Pittsburg, KS) to implement HHW program.
    - ~ Sent four employees (from Columbus and Galena) to HHW training.
    - ~ Have reserved three safety cabinets for HHW collection at specific sites.
  - Consumer electronics.
    - Organized and conducted two E-waste collection events (Columbus and Baxter Springs) in addition to the first event in 2009 (Columbus)...total amount collected was 65,029 lbs. Events were in cooperation with SEK Recycling and KDHE grant.
    - ~ Refer all E-waste disposal to SEK Recycling.

- > Pharmaceutical waste.
  - ~ Developed and implemented two disposal programs to discourage waste from entering waterways and solid waste facilities. Material is destroyed by incineration.
    - Nursing Home facilities...majority is redistributed through a program administered by Community Health Center of Southeast KS.
    - Public...Sheriff's Dept. now accepts medications for incineration during daytime hours.
- > Construction and demolition waste.
  - ~ Another C&D landfill (Robison Environmental) has applied for a permit and a public hearing was held in November, 2010.

## Cherokee County Solid Waste Committee Members

Carl Hayes (Chairman)
Jim Burton
Crystal Gatewood
Dr. Jim Triplett
Chuck Delp
Art Mallory
Joyce Palmer
Chris Palmer
Lorie Johnson
Jason Johnson
Bob Burgan