## RESOLUTION NO. 05-2018

## A RESOLUTION BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF CHEROKEE COUNTY, KANSAS, CREATING FIRE DISTRICTS IN CHEROKEE COUNTY, KANSAS.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF CHEROKEE COUNTY, KANSAS:

WHEREAS, it is advisable in the public interest that fire districts be organized in the unincorporated and township areas of Cherokee County, Kansas,

**SECTION 1. GENERAL AUTHORITY.** K.S.A. 19-101, *et. seq.*, and K.S.A. 19-212 authorize the Board of County Commissioners of Cherokee County, Kansas, to transact all County business and perform all powers of local legislation deemed appropriate, and to make all contracts and do all other acts in relation to the property and concerns of the County necessary to the exercise of its corporate or administrative powers.

**SECTION 2. PROJECT AND ADMINISTRATION**. Pursuant to K.S.A. 19-3601, *et. seq*, as amended, the Board of County Commissioners proposes to organize thirteen (13) fire districts, numbered two (2) through fourteen (14), with each boundary defined by its identified township, and excluding the existing municipal boundaries of the following cities within the County that have established fire departments: Cherokee, Weir, Scammon, Columbus, Baxter Springs, Galena and West Mineral. The existing <u>Fire District No. 1, County of Cherokee, Kansas</u> (Lola Township), established by Resolution 6-2013, shall remain intact and be excluded from this proposal.

**SECTION 3. SCOPE OF THE PROJECT.** It is the intention of the Governing Body that the fire districts shall be established by township as follows:

Fire District No. 2, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Lowell Township Fire District No. 3, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Lyon Township Fire District No. 4, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Mineral Township Fire District No. 5, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Neosho Township Fire District No. 6, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Pleasant View Township Fire District No. 7, County of Cherokee, Kansas. **Ross Township** Fire District No. 8, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Salamanca Township Fire District No. 9, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Shawnee Township Fire District No. 10, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Sheridan Township

Page 1 of 2

Fire District No. 11, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Spring Valley Township Fire District No. 12, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Cherokee Township Fire District No. 13, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Crawford Township Fire District No. 14, County of Cherokee, Kansas, Garden Township

SECTION 4. SPECIFICATIONS. The attached township maps depict the proposed fire districts and are incorporated by reference herein.

SECTION 5. PUBLICATION. This Resolution shall be published in the County's official newspaper of general circulation for three (3) consecutive weeks.

SECTION 6. NOTICE OF HEARING. Publication of this Resolution serves as **NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING.** A public hearing shall be conducted in consideration of this proposal to establish thirteen (13) fire districts by the Board of County Commissioners of Cherokee County, Kansas, on the \_\_\_\_\_ day of , 2018, at 10:00 a.m., at the Cherokee County Courthouse, 110 W. Maple, 1st Floor Commission Meeting Room, Columbus, Kansas.

**SECTION 7.** CONFLICT. That all resolutions, County policies or parts thereof in conflict herewith are hereby repealed insofar as they conflict herewith.

PASSED and APPROVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Cherokee

County, Kansas, this <u>5</u> day of <u>February</u>, 2018.

Cory Moates, Chairman Cherokee County Commissioner

Patrick Collins Cherokee County Commissioner

ATTEST:

Rodnev D. Édmondson, County Clerk

(Seal)

Page 2 of 2

Neal Anderson Cherokee County Commissioner