# MINUTES for May 1, 2023 BOARD of CHEROKEE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' CHEROKEE COUNTY, KANSAS

#### CONVENE

Vice-Chair Lorie Johnson called the regular session of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners (the Board), to order at 9:00 AM on Monday, May 1, 2023, in the Commission Room, #109 of the Cherokee County Courthouse located at 110 W Maple St., Columbus, Kansas. County clerk Rebecca Brassart opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. Commissioners Lorie Johnson, Myra Frazier, county clerk Rebecca Brassart, road and bridge supervisor Cody Zook and News Report owner Larry Hiatt were present. Commissioner Moates was not in attendance.

## **APPROVAL of MINUTES**

Commissioner Frazier made a motion to approve the minutes as presented from the April 24, 2023, meeting. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## **APPROVAL of PAYROLL**

Commissioner Johnson made a motion to approve the payroll as presented. Commissioner Frazier seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## **APPROVAL of PAYABLES**

Commissioner Frazier made a motion to approve the payables as presented. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## **ROAD and BRIDGE**

Cody Zook came before the Board to update them on them on the vulnerable road user class which he attended.

## **TAX SALE**

County counselor Nathan Coleman informed the Board that he has spoken with the Wichita firm that is handling the tax sale and they stated the tax sale can be held in an alternate location. Coleman also stated the firm said they would only need about ½ a day to conduct the sale now so with the new information they should be able to get a date nailed down with the courts to be able to hold the sale here at the courthouse.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Commissioner Johnson made a motion to adjourn the regular meeting. Commissioner Frazier seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

ATTEST: Resolved and ordered this 8th day of May 2023.	
Kehlea Strassart	(Mass
County Clerk - Rebecca S Brassart	Commissioner Chair - Cory Moates
	Whe Johnson
	Commissioner – Lorie Johnson
	$\Omega$

Complissioner – Myra Carlisle Frazier